Fitting the Pieces Together

  • How has your view on how you learn changed?

At the beginning of this course I was very excited to learn about the different theories because I know that this is beneficial not only for me but for all those learners that I will encounter in my future career. I have now learned that the concept of learning is way more complex than meets the eye, no pun intended. I really now understand the sacrifice that is made on the learning and instructor to be able to have the motivation and engagement to be more effective

  • What have you learned about the various learning theories and learning styles over the past weeks that can further explain your own personal learning preferences?

I have always struggled to be engaged in learning. So being at the other end of being the one who wants to instruct it makes me fully aware that I need to get myself straightened out in regards to learning material the right way. I have now understood and learned that by understanding what helps me and what doesn’t I am able to find better end result in tools to further my knowledge in this industry. I still consider myself a visual learning and I like to be able to be in a situation that will only allow further learning. Another thing that I have learned is the terminology used with categories for each type of learner, which is something that I have put a fight against.  But learning theories and styles have really put a positive spin to it all because it will only be of benefit to you. So I can now say that I am in a different state of opinion, I am on Stage 7 of this Acceptance and Hope.

  • What role does technology play in your learning (i.e., as a way to search for information, to record information, to create, etc.)?

More than ever the Internet and technology tools are playing a role in my learning. EDUC 6115 Learning Theories and Instruction has opened my eyes to the tools that are available to everyone in the Instructional Design industry and how it is a truly knit community of learners. They aren’t only guiding those in their everyday job but always creating blogs to be able to share all the information that have come across and are very caring to share with their colleagues. Technology definitely plays a huge role in being able to go to these blogs and articles that are invested in ID.

One thought on “Fitting the Pieces Together

  1. Rebecca,
    “I really now understand the sacrifice that is made on the learning and instructor to be able to have the motivation and engagement to be more effective,” and “I have now understood and learned that by understanding what helps me and what doesn’t I am able to find better end result in tools to further my knowledge in this industry.” It sounds like you have gained valuable insight into yourself and learning that will serve you well long after this course. That’s great!
    Sally

Leave a Reply

