Reflection…

 

  • What did you find surprising or striking as you furthered your knowledge about how people learn?

As silly as it sounds but the concept, as a whole of how people learn was very fascinating but at the same time very overwhelming. There are so many different styles and theories that explain and how and why people learn a certain way and now to really be able to break it all down was interesting. I find it surprising how these learning theories have really been documented way before the civilization of technology, since technology is a grand part of this course and degree. Knowing this now and how we need to be able to understand the concepts that come from the learning theories so that can then evolve to be able to tweak and adjust them according to help people learn even better.

 

  • How has this course deepened your understanding of your personal learning process?

Being a learner now for 25 plus years you get to know yourself and how you learn best: You know what works for you and what doesn’t. You know what you lean towards in using as tool and what you try to stay away, but until this class I can honestly say that I had never looked in what “type” of learner I am. I always said I was a visual learner but after this course I can consider myself more sophisticated and say I’m a behaviorist, constructive, and cognitive learner.  I now have a reason for the way I learn and how I focus my thoughts and make connections not only visually but also mentally. It great to have the help of those in this course to really probe my thought process in how I learn. I was able to look at whom I share a class with and in a sense compare to really understand why I do the things I do. I definitely have taken much more from this class then I ever thought. Now that I have a better understanding of myself I am sure I will have a better understanding of those around me.

 

  • What have you learned regarding the connection between learning theories, learning styles, educational technology, and motivation?

           I have learned that in this type of learning industry and all it involves there is always a crossover of information and how one might compliment the other. Most of all I now have an understanding of the motivation that lies beneath the theories and styles. For me motivation has played a factor because at the core of each learner you will find what their motivation for learning is and how you can spark it through the right type of tools and instruction you are able to give him/her based on their learning style they are most responsive too. The technology that is out there for education is something growing at a rapid pace, the tools available to learners to really be able to make a connection between what they know about themselves (in learning) and what can be done to improve. Technology has made the limitation on learning pretty much endless but at the same time it becomes overwhelming so once again keeping that motivation up is for me the number one priority in learning.

 

  • How will your learning in this course help you as you further your career in the field of instructional design?

           More than anything after this course I hope to really be an inspiring instructor in this field. Whether it is a classroom, training room, or providing inspiration for those via social media such as blog have done for me. I hope I am able to now engage with the learners I encounter in another level where I can understand them and provide the guidance and direction that they will most likely be grateful for and definitely receptive too. I know now the what type of tools that are available out there for the field of instructional design. Being able to really target my learners with motivation and positive reinforcement is something that I will always strive for. I am grateful for my classmates that have guided me through this class because I have so much to learn and that too will be something that will further my career one day in the field of instructional design.

Leave a Reply

